Goodbye Reno

I’ve been gone for a bit from the blog because I had to get myself back to school!

I grew up on the west coast and worked this summer in Reno, NV. For the past two years I’ve gone to school on the East Coast. Sometimes I feel torn because my hometown and real family is in one area and my best friends and chosen family is on the other coast! That being said, I love my life and wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

I have some great memories from the past three months:

 

Can’t beat that scenery

Here I am presenting my final project for the summer- research on forest fires in Tahoe

 

I also have to say a big “Thank you” to all my awesome friends from this summer for their support with the blog. And for the awesome face, Eddy!

 

Our group of interns on the last night out for fro-yo. A great option for a healthy snack! 

 

So, at the end of my research program this summer, I had to pack up my apartment skedaddle back to the east coast. As far as sustainability goes, this is definitely not a good thing. I bought some household items in Reno, but left them there and may need to buy them again in Baltimore (Coat hangers, can openers, tupperware). Not to even mention all the air travel and flights I have to take to get home for breaks, to see my family and to fuse the two parts of my life. I have  no idea if the benefits will outweigh the negatives in this case because I’m studying sustainability, but this is my life for now.

After packing up an apartment and trying to schlep all my stuff back to the east coast, I totally am going to clean out my closet and hopefully sell lots of clothes to a consignment store. I can’t handle more stuff!

So much stuff… 

 

A banana provided necessary energy:

It was kind of triangular from squishing. But still good! 

 

And so today, I am back in my wonderful apartment beautifully furnished by my roommate. I have many things to do, so I may only sporadically post until after labor day when all my activities die down a bit. Enjoy those last few days of summer, everyone!

 

About asinglemagic

Hi there! I'm a college student with a passion for fitness, food and sustainability. Follow my blog to hear about my wacky recipes, workout goals, and sustainability tips and tricks.

Leave a Reply

